Chronicle of the Russian Tsars


Chronicle of the Russian Tsars

The Reign-by-Reign Record of the Rulers of Imperial Russia

  1. David Warnes
See Inside
  • ISBN 9780500288283
  • 25.40 x 19.20 cm
  • Paperback
  • 224pp
  • 229 Illustrations, 100 in colour
  • First published 2009
  • See more books in theChronicles Series

The essential book on tsarist Russia – a highly readable popular history and a unique work of reference

Contents include:
• Biographical accounts of all 26 tsars, from the empire-building Ivan the Great to Nicholas II, executed by a Bolshevik firing squad
• Personalities and eccentricities of famous tsars and empresses, tyrants and reformers, including Ivan the Terrible, Peter the Great, Catherine the Great and Alexander II, emancipator of the serfs
• Timelines throughout with at-a-glance visual guides to the length and decisive events of each reign
• Genealogical trees of the Romanovs and their predecessors, and datafiles for every ruler detailing lineage, spouses and children, and place and cause of death
• Extensive quotations from contemporary sources that bring the past to life
• Over 90 sidebars and special features ranging from the building of the Moscow Kremlin to Catherine the Great’s lovers
• 229 illustrations, 100 in colour, including portraits of every ruler and key political player, art treasures, architecture, maps and plans

David Warnes is the author of Russia: A Modern History and he has been a frequent visitor to that country for over thirty years.