Lewis Carroll


Lewis Carroll

  1. Introduction by Colin Ford
See Inside
  • ISBN 9780500410981
  • 19.00 x 12.20 cm
  • Paperback with flaps
  • 144pp
  • 59 Illustrations, 0 in colour
  • First published 2009
  • See more books in thePhotofile Series

Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known by his pen name of Lewis Carroll, was an enigma: both a disciple of logic and a master of nonsense. Most famous for his imaginative masterpieces Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, he was also a keen and talented photographer.

His fascination with this pioneering new medium led him to take intensely atmospheric portraits of family members and friends, and to create a series of haunting, unforgettable – and, to modern eyes, controversial – images that record the beauty, grace and innocence of Victorian childhood.

This series brings together the best work of the world’s greatest photographers, in an attractive format and at an easily affordable price. Handsome and collectable, the books are produced to the highest standards. Each volume contains some sixty full-page reproductions printed in superb duotone, together with a critical introduction and a full bibliography. The series was awarded the first annual prize for distinguished photographic books by the International Center of Photography, New York.