Mindful Design of Japan

Mindful Design of Japan: 40 Modern Tea-Ceremony Rooms

  1. Michael Freeman
  • ISBN 9780957471757
  • 23.20 x 25.00 cm
  • Paperback
  • 256pp
  • Illustrated in colour throughout
  • First published 2015
  • Distributed on behalf of 8 Books

A fully updated edition of Michael Freeman’s popular book New Zen

The Japanese tea-ceremony, or Way of Tea, is one of the most profound manifestations of mindfulness. The ceremony, with its roots in Zen Buddhism, dates as far back as the 15th century and takes place within a traditional tea-ceremony room.

In these pages you can glimpse modern interpretations of the fascinating tea room – an empty space designed for meditation, contemplation and the appreciation of the art of tea drinking.

In this fully updated edition of New Zen, are forty outstanding examples of contemporary Japanese tea rooms, many located within private homes. The book highlights all aspects of the subject – the design, architecture, garden design and the ceremony itself. And with many different materials featured, it is itself an inspirational sourcebook for modern homes.

Every tea-ceremony room included is by a well-known artist, designer or architect, making this a unique compendium of the best modern interior design in Japan – designs by Kengo Kuma, Kisho Kurokawa, Terunobu Fujimori, Takashi Sugimoto and Shigeru Uchida.

Michael Freeman is an acclaimed photographer and writer who specializes in travel, architecture and Asian art. He is the author of the international bestselling photography book, The Photographer’s Eye, which has sold over one million copies worldwide and has been published in twenty-seven languages. Over the last thirty years he has published numerous books on design and architecture, including New Oriental Style and China Contemporary, both published by Thames & Hudson.