Verve Collector\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s edition

Verve (Collector's Edition)

The Sound of America

(Includes 10 vinyl records)
  1. Richard Havers
  2. Foreword by Herbie Hancock
  • ISBN 9780500517475
  • 27.70 x 21.60 cm
  • Hardback (no jacket) in slipcase
  • 400pp
  • With over 1,000 illustrations in colour and black and white
  • First published 2014
£250.80 add to basketAdd to Basket

Verve Collector's edition
Hot on the heels of one of the most talked-about jazz books in years, comes the musically-enhanced, strictly limited Collector’s Edition
Slipcased with vinyl re-issues of ten legendary recordings on Verve, this is an exceptional opportunity to own a unique slice of jazz history

• All recordings remastered at Abbey Road Studios
• Pressed onto 180g heavyweight vinyl for optimum sound quality
• All album sleeves printed with stunning original artwork
• Packaged in a dual-compartment cloth-bound display case
• Strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide
• Signed by the author

‘A gloriously lively history of jazz; the book’s design almost makes you hear the music as you read’ Observer, Books of the Year 2013

‘I was sooooo inspired just holding the book and turning the pages that I decided to pick a couple of Verve tracks to play … I’ll never stop reading this instantly historical and beautifully written book’ Bruce Johnston, The Beach Boys

Includes the following vinyl pressings:
1. Charlie Parker, Charlie Parker With Strings (1950) 2. Count Basie and His Orchestra, April In Paris (1955) 3. Billie Holiday, Lady Sings The Blues (1956) 4. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong, Ella And Louis (1956) 5. Stan Getz, Big Band Bossa Nova (1962) 6. Quincy Jones and His Orchestra, Big Band Bossa Nova (1962) 7. Bill Evans, Conversations With Myself (1963) 8. The Oscar Peterson Trio, Night Train (1963) 9. Jimmy Smith, The Cat (1964) 10. George Benson, Giblet Gravy (1968)

In partnership with The Verve Music Group, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

Customers in the USA/Canada please order via Thames & Hudson Inc

See Thames & Hudson's other Collectors' Editions